My first month in the Peace Corps

I will continue to have extremely spotty internet connection until I am sworn in in late March and (cross you finger) placed in a site that actually has internet.  Until then, we will have to do with these long updates.  Luckily they come with lots of awesome pictures.

1. On warm days, my host dad spends hours basket weaving:

IMG_0991

2. The finished product is incredible:

 

IMG_0993

3. The view from the view reminds me of home.  I miss Colorado:

IMG_1010

4. Me with my host parents:

IMG_1021

5. The gang on a walk to “the lake” (It’s kinda just a river…but their language doesn’t differentiate)

IMG_1027

6. Kids playing by the river to the Darisha version of “Ring Around the Rosy.”  Their version involves brushing your teeth rather than mass death by plague.

IMG_1065

7. Art looking at the beautiful Mid-Atlas Mountains:

IMG_1075

8. People ride donkeys (hamal hashak) here all the time:

IMG_1117

9. A beautiful view from the town over:

IMG_1117

10. When it rains, it gets mighty cold.  No indoor heating means its 10 degrees colder inside.  We’ve already had several nights where we can see our breath as we go to sleep:

[No Picture for this one]

11. A quick view of my small town:

IMG_1165

12. A view that makes this area seem not so poor:

IMG_1163

13. A beautiful sunset over my city:

IMG_1172

14. The Mosque in my town is easily the biggest building around:

IMG_1181

15. My host mother presenting couscous.  It’s a Friday special:

IMG_1194

It’s been a good couple of weeks since my last update.  It may be cold, but I am getting used to the routine that the cold creates.  As for being disconnected…it’s kinda nice to get away for a while.  I got my second shower of homestay today—which was nice.  We get one a week it seems.  The time is kind of flying.  In five weeks, it’ll be my 24th birthday and I will get my final destination—where I’ll spend my entire service.

I’ve been writing sooooo much.  I write at least one letter to America each day.  I’ve gotten to know the postmaster of this town quite well.  His name is Ali and he is intent on getting me to marry a Moroccan Woman (not gonna happen).  I also write in my leather-bound journal once or twice a day (thank you Sofia).  In the first four weeks here, I have covered more than 40 pages.  I honestly think I may fill up this entire (rather large) journal before I reach six month.  It is great writing practice.

I’ll update again the next time I have internet.

~Richard

 

What do you think?

